SANDAG: San Diego Association of Governments

FACT SHEET



MEMBER AGENCIES:

Cities of:
Carlsbad, Chula Vista,
Coronado, Del Mar,
El Cajon, Encinitas,
Escondido, Imperial Beach,
La Mesa, Lemon Grove,
National City, Oceanside,
Poway, San Diego,
San Marcos, Santee,
Solana Beach, Vista,
and County of San Diego

ADVISORY MEMBERS

Imperial County,
California Department of
Transportation,
Metropolitan Transit System,
North County Transit District,
U.S. Department of Defense,
San Diego Unified Port District,
San Diego County Water
Authority, Southern California
Tribal Chairmen's Association,
and Mexico



401 B Street, Suite 800 San Diego, CA 92101 (619) 699-1900 Fax (619) 699-1905 www.sandaq.org

A Forum for Regional Decision-making

The 18 cities and county government are SANDAG serving as the forum for regional decision-making. The agency builds consensus, makes strategic plans, obtains and allocates resources, and provides information on a broad range of topics pertinent to the region's quality of life.

On January 1, 2003, a new state law (SB 1703) consolidated all of the roles and responsibilities of SANDAG with many of the transit functions of the Metropolitan Transit System (MTS) and the North County Transit District (NCTD). SANDAG now is responsible for transit planning, funding allocation, project development, and construction in the San Diego region, in addition to its ongoing transportation responsibilities and other regional roles.

Leadership

SANDAG is governed by a Board of Directors composed of mayors, council members, and county supervisors from each of the region's 19 local governments. Supplementing these voting members are advisory representatives from Imperial County, Caltrans, MTS, NCTD, the U.S. Department of Defense, San Diego Unified Port District, San Diego County Water Authority, Southern California Tribal Chairmen's Association, and Mexico. The Board of Directors is assisted by a professional staff of planners, engineers, and research specialists.

Responsibilities

Current major initiatives are jump-starting transportation projects with *TransNet* funding, the implementation of the Regional Comprehensive Plan, and an update of the Regional Transportation Plan.

Monthly Board and Policy Committee meetings provide the public forums and decision points

for significant regional issues such as growth and land use, transportation and transit funds, environmental management, housing, open space, air quality, energy, fiscal management, economic development, and public safety. SANDAG Directors establish policies, adopt plans, allocate transportation funds, and develop programs for regional issues. These interdependent and interrelated responsibilities permit a more streamlined, comprehensive, and coordinated approach to planning for the region's future. Citizens and representatives from community, civic, environmental, education, and business, groups are involved in the planning and approval process by participating in committees, workshops, and public hearings.

Each year, SANDAG adopts an overall work program and budget with federal, state, and local funds to support its regional responsibilities. The fiscal year 2008 program budget, covering the period July 1, 2007, through June 30, 2008, totals \$359 million, and includes major items such as building highway and transit projects using TransNet sales tax dollars; conducting a comprehensive update of the Regional Transportation Plan; implementing the TransNet Environmental Mitigation Program; partnering with our neighbors to enhance border planning; developing the ARJIS Enterprise System; and expanding the 511 traffic information system.



THE SANDAG BOARD OF DIRECTORS

The 18 cities and county government are SANDAG serving as the forum for regional decision-making. SANDAG builds consensus; plans, engineers, and builds public transit and transportation projects; makes strategic plans; obtains and allocates resources; and provides information on a broad range of topics pertinent to the region's quality of life.

Chair First Vice Chair Second Vice Chair Secretary/Executive Director

Hon. Mary Teresa Sessom Hon. Lori Holt Pfeiler Hon. Jerome Stocks Gary L. Gallegos

City of Carlsbad

Hon. Matt Hall, Councilmember
(A) Hon. Bud Lewis, Mayor
(A) Hon. Ann Kulchin, Mayor Pro Tem

City of Chula Vista

Hon. Cheryl Cox, Mayor

(A) Hon. Jerry Rindone, Deputy Mayor

(A) Hon. John McCann, Councilmember

City of Coronado

Hon. Phil Monroe, Councilmember

(A) Hon. Carrie Downey, Mayor Pro Tem

(A) Hon. Al Ovrom, Councilmember

City of Del Mar

Hon. Crystal Crawford, Councilmember
(A) Hon. David Druker, Deputy Mayor
(A) Hon. Henry Abarbanel, Councilmember

City of El Cajon

Hon. Mark Lewis, Mayor

(A) Hon. Jillian Hanson-Cox, Councilmember

City of Encinitas

Hon. Jerome Stocks, Deputy Mayor (A) Hon. Teresa Barth, Councilmember

City of Escondido

Hon. Lori Holt Pfeiler, Mayor

(A) Hon. Ed Gallo, Councilmember

(A) Hon. Sam Abed, Mayor Pro Tem

City of Imperial Beach

Hon. Jim Janey, Mayor(A) Hon. Patricia McCoy, Councilmember(A) Hon. Mayda Winter, Mayor Pro Tem

City of La Mesa

Hon. Art Madrid, Mayor

(A) Hon. David Allan, Councilmember

(A) Hon. Mark Arapostathis, Councilmember

City of Lemon Grove

Hon. Mary Teresa Sessom, Mayor (A) Hon. Jerry Jones, Councilmember (A) Hon. Jerry Selby, Councilmember

City of National City

Hon. Ron Morrison, Mayor

(A) Hon. Frank Parra, Councilmember

(A) Hon. Louie Natividad, Councilmember

City of Oceanside

Hon. Jim Wood, Mayor

(A) Hon. Jerry Kern, Councilmember

(A) Hon. Jack Feller, Councilmember

City of Poway

Hon. Mickey Cafagna, Mayor

(A) Hon. Robert Emery, Councilmember

(A) Hon. Don Higginson, Councilmember

City of San Diego

Hon. Jerry Sanders, Mayor Hon. Toni Atkins, Councilmember (A) Hon. Jim Madaffer, Councilmember (A) Hon. Scott Peters, Council President

City of San Marcos

Hon. Jim Desmond, Mayor

(A) Hon. Hal Martin, Vice Mayor

(A) Hon. Rebecca Jones, Councilmember

City of Santee

Hon. Jack Dale, Councilmember

(A) Hon. Hal Ryan, Councilmember

(A) Hon. John Minto, Councilmember

City of Solana Beach

Hon. Lesa Heebner, Mayor

(A) Hon. Dave Roberts, Councilmember

(A) Hon. Mike Nichols, Councilmember

City of Vista

Hon. Judy Ritter, Mayor Pro Tem(A) Hon. Bob Campbell, Councilmember(A) Hon. Steve Gronke, Councilmember

County of San Diego

Hon. Ron Roberts, ChairmanHon. Bill Horn, Supervisor(A) Hon. Greg Cox, Vice Chairman(A) Hon. Dianne Jacob, Chair Pro Tem

ADVISORY MEMBERS

Imperial County

Hon. Victor Carrillo, Chairman

(A) Hon. David Ouzan, Councilmember

California Department of Transportation

Will Kempton, Director

(A) Pedro Orso-Delgado, District 11 Director

Metropolitan Transit System

Harry Mathis, Chairman

(A) Hon. Jerry Rindone, Vice Chairman

(A) Hon. Bob Emery, Board Member

North County Transit District

Hon. Ed Gallo, Chairman

(A) Hon. Jerome Stocks,
Planning Committee Chair

(A) Hon. David Druker,
Monitoring Committee Chair

United States Department of Defense

CAPT Steve Wirsching, USN, CEC, Southwest Division Naval Facilities Engineering Command

San Diego Unified Port District

Sylvia Rios, Chair
(A) Michael B. Bixler, Commissioner

San Diego County Water Authority

Marilyn Dailey, Commissioner
(A) Mark Muir, Commissioner
(A) Gary Croucher, Commissioner

Southern California Tribal Chairmen's Association

Chairman Robert Smith (Pala), SCTCA Chair (A) Chairman Allen Lawson (San Pasqual)

Mexico

Hon. Luis Cabrera C. Consul General of Mexico